Jeremy Barton

From a Board perspective, what do you think are important issues
facing the co-op?

Adjusting to Bozeman’s growth, including WFM arrival. According to the 2020 Bozeman Community Plan, Bozeman is projected to grow by nearly 27,000 people through the year 2045. This will present opportunities and challenges I am eager to work through. Anti-racist / DEI efforts. As Bozeman grows, the Co-op can be a DEI leader that will translate to the broader community. I am excited to get involved in the Board's continued efforts in this area.

What strengths would you bring to the Board?

I consider myself an entrepreneurial leader. I have experience researching problems, finding market opportunities, and then building solutions with diverse teams. I’m interested in how businesses integrate their physical presence with the digital capabilities of the internet to enhance services for customers. I’ve been extremely impressed with the CO-GO service. I have ideas and skills for how the Co-op can build innovative new products and services that will be valuable for the community.

What aspects of the Co-op Board of Directors do you find of interest?

Community building. My family is new to the Bozeman community. With Bozeman’s growth, I am excited to think about how more community members can get involved. I can’t think of a place that is
as integral to this community as the Co-op.

Climate change. The food we consume is a huge slice of the carbon footprint for an average consumer. The Co-op has a unique opportunity to educate and encourage consumers to adopt sustainable agriculture.

Biography

Hi! I’m Jeremy Barton, a proud Co-op member-owner! I grew up in Ojo Caliente, a tiny town in New Mexico. After high school, I migrated to California for college and have spent my career at tech startups of different sizes. I love diving headfirst into big problems and building products that make people’s lives better. Currently, I build products at Facebook, where I’ve worked for the last 8 years on some of the largest initiatives at the company. Outside of work, I spend time with my wife (Michelle), daughter (Parker; 5yr), son (Taylor; 18mo) and pup (Harlow). Outdoor sports have always been a huge part of my life. Right now I’m running long distances (50+mile races), biking (my kids around), and skiing. When not outside, I’m exploring plant-based food in the kitchen. I also have what my wife thinks is a strange interest in houseplants and Toyota Land Cruisers.